Home Historical art Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize 2022 • The exhibition in London

Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize 2022 • The exhibition in London


Originally established in 1996, the long-running and influential annual Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize identifies and rewards artists and projects considered to have made the most significant contribution to photography over the past 12 months.

The four artists shortlisted for the Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize 2022 are Deana Lawson, Gilles Peress, Jo Ractliffe and Anastasia Samoylova. They were selected by a specially appointed jury for 2022 including Yto Barrada, artist, Jessica Dimson, Deputy Director of Photography at The New York Times, Yasufumi Nakamori, Senior Curator of International Art (Photography) at Tate Modern, Anne- Marie Beckmann, Director, Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation, and Brett Rogers, OBE, Director, The Photographers’ Gallery, as Voting Chairman.

Each artist offers very distinct approaches to visual storytelling, while collectively tackling some of the most pressing issues facing us today. Despite the difference in perspectives (generational, geographical, racial, cultural) and artistic strategies, each of the shortlisted artists shows an acute awareness of their current context, the weight of history, the issues of heritage and language (visual or no) and the responsibility to express their own position in relation to their subject.

The Photographers’ Gallery in London will host the exhibition of the shortlisted projects from March 25 to June 12, 2022, with the winner announced on May 12, 2022. The exhibition will then travel to the Deutsche Börse headquarters in Eschborn/Frankfurt and will be on view from June 30, 2022.

The winner of the £30,000 prize will be announced at an awards ceremony to be held at the Photographers’ Gallery on May 12, 2022, with the other finalists each receiving £5,000 – an increase on previous years where the reward fund was £3,000 each.

The artists and projects of the 2022 shortlist are:

Deana Lawson, chef, 2019. Courtesy of Sikkema Jenkins & Co., New York; David Kordansky Gallery, Los Angeles.